The 88th Annual Academy Awards was one for the history books. Host Chris Rock took Hollywood to task for it’s “race problem” while stars like Reese Witherspoon and Westchester’s own Rooney Mara glowed on the red carpet. Lady Gaga stunned with her emotionally charged performance of her nominated song “Til It Happens To You.” After 25 years of acting (and four previous nominations) Leonardo DiCaprio finally took home a Best Actor statue while Best Actress winner Brie Larson cemented her place on the A-list. From getting glam to goofing around during the show to intimate moments backstage and of course all the post party celebrations—come take a peek with us at the best Instagrams from Oscars 2016 that tell the story of what really went on during Hollywood’s most glamorous night of the year.

Best Actress nominee Rooney Mara putting on her finishing touches before hitting the red carpet

A photo posted by Kate Lee (@kateleemakeup) on



Sly Stallone, nominated for Best Supporting Actor for his role in Creed, took a moment to reflect on a “memorable year” before heading to the show

Host Chris Rock made edits to his monologue up until the very last second

A photo posted by Chris Rock (@chrisrock) on

Heidi Klum getting ready with her dream team!

A photo posted by Heidi Klum (@heidiklum) on

Brie Larson enjoyed a pre-Oscars breakfast

A photo posted by Brie (@brielarson) on

Chrissy Teigen was sewn into her dress—pregnant belly and all!

Kerry Washington gave us a behind the scenes view of her red carpet interview with Robin Roberts

Sofia Vergara had an Oscar snack in the green room

A photo posted by Sofia Vergara (@sofiavergara) on

Mindy Kaling said she was nervous about wearing an updo on the red carpet but she pulled it off perfectly!

A photo posted by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on

Sarah Silverman stunned in Zac Posen on the red carpet

A photo posted by @zacposen on

Best Supporting Actress nominee Jennifer Jason Leigh was pretty in pink — and Marchesa

A photo posted by Marchesa (@marchesafashion) on

Reese Witherspoon made some new friends backstage

Naomi Watts took a selfie with her husband Liev Schreiber and his Spotlight co-star Mark Ruffalo and his wife Sunrise Coigney during the show—-and before Spotlight nabbed Best Picture of the Year.

A photo posted by Naomi Watts (@naomiwatts) on

Lady Gaga giving her fiance Taylor Kinney an Oscar worthy smooch

A photo posted by Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) on

Mariah Carey looked stunning while hanging with Elton John at his annual Oscar viewing party

A photo posted by Elton John (@eltonjohn) on

Jessica Biel and Justin Timberlake were happy and relaxed in the Vanity Fair + Mark Seliger Portrait Studio

A photo posted by Vanity Fair (@vanityfair) on

And finally, Best Actress winner Brie Larson celebrated her win with a much deserved snack and a change into her Converse. Perfect way to end the night!

A photo posted by Brie (@brielarson) on

What was your favorite moment of the night? Tweet us @SerendipitySoci with your thoughts!